Moy Report 1st May @ 8 am

Height at Ballylahan bridge 0.58m

Water temperature 8°c

The water is getting away nicely on EMAA but is still in great order for all methods.  Its still at a height that allows fish to run unhindered even during daylight hours.  This gives the angler hope that fish could enter the pool at any moment.  I should mention that above where the gweestion enters is getting a little low, but there is still enough water to draw fish upstream especially overnight.

Yesterday was quiet on EMAA, and I didn’t hear of any catches.  The bright day didn’t help.  I will be out myself later on today and will hopefully have something to report.

Ballintemple, East Mayo Anglers Association.

Ballintemple, East Mayo Anglers Association.

4 thoughts on “Moy Report 1st May @ 8 am

  1. What do you recon the prospects for sat would be taking in levels forecast and so on need to book in and as I’m driving up from Dublin would like to get there when its right all to often I make the trip on to low or high … I fish the fly only ,, if u could give me an indication I would be great full tnx Barry

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Hi Barry

      According to the forecast we are promised a wet day on Friday. You could be faced with a rising river on Saturday. A bit of a gamble considering the expense involved.

  2. Hi mate just came across your site by chance & think its very informative & helpful to those anglers that are not fortunate enough to live close by . Would also like to point out that returning salmon like you have done is very commendable & should be practiced more often by so called anglers . I do kill some fish in the season I would be lying if I said I didn’t but all too often anglers are too quick to kill a fish so they can walk up the bank with their chests sticking out & heads held high when in reality to release a fish & see it swim off will give you every bit the same pleasure but unfortunately the people that I know who salmon fish are all too often involved in a numbers game trying to out fish their mates or fellow anglers so that their name will be mentioned in the pub that evening with no regard or respect for the fish they are trying to catch . I think the same guys would kill the last salmon that ever swam up the Moy just to have their name associated with it . Maybe one day all that will change but for the foreseeable future I can’t see it . Anyway it’s a good job there’s people like yourself to give the salmon half a sporting chance . Well done mate & have a good season ..
    Davy McKee
    Northern Ireland

    • Hi Davy

      Thanks for your comments. Things are very slowly changing in Ireland with regards to catch and release. I like to keep a few for the table myself, but I release the majority of fish I catch. There are always going to be those anglers that keep everything they catch but hopefully a more sensible attitude will develop.
      Tight lines for 2013

Leave a comment