Moy Report 27th May @ 8.30am

Height at Ballylahan bridge 1.05m

Unexpected heavy rain in the mountains yesterday has resulted in a flash flood this morning. The river is already dropping and will have lost a lot of water by evening and at present it is only suitable for worm and spinner.  Fly fishing may be possible this evening especially in the upper stretches.

I spent a good deal of time at the river yesterday with the fly and was duly rewarded in the evening when I landed a short, deep 9.5lber.  I began at Ryans and fished my way upstream but had no luck so decided to try the lower end of the fishery.  I fished through my favourite pools but had no luck but did see two fish show.  I then went for a break but decided to come back down as by then the river was starting to rise upstream.

After only ten minutes fishing the line tightened and I lifted into a powerful hard fighting 9.5lber.  After the best part of ten minutes I finally slid the fish into the net.  It was probably the deepest hooked fish I have caught on the fly and my intention to release it was pointless as it was bleeding heavily.  It took a size ten cascade fished on an intermediate tip

I was talking to the waterkeeper around 6pm and there was little to report.  Only a couple of fish had been landed with several lost.  Sundays reported catch came in at 21 fish, which I think was the best day of the season so far.

River Moy East Mayo Anglers.

Yesterday evenings salmon weighing in at 9.5lb.

 

Leave a comment