Moy Report 29th April @ 8 am

Height at Ballylahan bridge 0.65m

Water temperature 8°c

The river is in great order for the fly this morning, but i wouldn’t be surprised if it started to creep up later after yesterdays showers.  The wind is starting to pick up again this morning,and will make it difficult for fly fishing.  The forecast for this week is fairly unsettled.  Tuesday seems to be the best day, with more general rain towards the end of the week.  At least these conditions will keep salmon moving through the system.

I was out fishing for a few hours yesterday afternoon.  The weather was atrocious, with what appeared to be near gale force winds and heavy downpours.  It was virtually impossible to fly fish, so I had to pack it in.  I had no spinning rod with me so that option was not possible.  I met a few anglers along the way that were leaving to go to the fly only water, were they hoped to find some shelter from the wind.

In the brief time I was out, I heard of a good fish caught and released around Ballylahan (13-14lb). I also heard of one lost at the net, and a couple of fish seen.

A windswept River Moy yesterday, East Mayo Anglers Association.

A windswept River Moy yesterday, East Mayo Anglers Association.

Leave a comment